Charleston attorney Thomas V. Flaherty has been elected chairman of the West Virginia University Board of Governors, effective July 1.

Flaherty, a founding partner of Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso PLLC, succeeds Martinsburg businessman James W. Dailey II as head of the 17-member board which oversees the state’s flagship university.

“The person I am today is a result of the values instilled in me by my parents, but I credit West Virginia University with shaping the professional I have become,” Flaherty said. “As a proud Mountaineer, I am honored to continue my service as a member of the Board of Governors. It is an exciting time for WVU under the energetic and experienced leadership of President Gee.”

Flaherty is also chairman of Brickstreet Mutual Insurance Co. and four wholly-owned subsidiaries. He’s been listed in The Best Lawyers in America for more than 20 years – longer than any other West Virginia personal injury defense attorney. He has also been rated No. 1 for the past seven years by West Virginia Super Lawyers. In addition, he has co-chaired the Campaign for Legal Aid in West Virginia and currently serves as co-chair of the Capital Campaign for the Ronald McDonald House.

William D. Wilmoth, an attorney with Steptoe & Johnson in Wheeling, was elected vice-chairman.

Prior to Joining Steptoe & Johnson in 1999, Wilmoth served more than five years as U.S. attorney for the Northern District of West Virginia and as assistant U.S. attorney for three years.

Diane Lewis, founder, president and CEO of Action Facilities Management Inc. a female, minority-owned business in Morgantown that employs more than 200 workers, was elected secretary.

Since its inception in 2001, the firm has provided facilities management contracting services such as site management, security and facilities maintenance to government and commercial entities. In 2013, she was named West Virginia Small Business Person of the Year by the Small Business Administration and the company won the Pro Patria award from the West Virginia National Guard for support of West Virginia service members. Lewis and AFM have received numerous other recognitions and awards for their work.

The three were elected during the Board’s June 5 meeting at the Glade Springs Resort in Daniels.



CONTACT: University Relations/News

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.