The West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, in a special meeting in Charleston today (March 10), confirmed the selection of E. Gordon Gee as the 24th president of West Virginia University.

The Commission voted to approve the WVU Board of Governors’ March 3 action to amend its search process and select Gee as the permanent president.

“President Gee is a vibrant leader with unmatched credentials whose homecoming has been warmly welcomed at West Virginia University,” said Dr. Bruce Berry, HEPC chair. “We look forward to working closely with President Gee and the entire campus as we strive to increase opportunities for our students and expand the positive impact of higher education on West Virginia’s communities.”

Gee will serve until June 30 under his current contract. A new two-year contract, which is being finalized, will take effect July 1.

“I am deeply honored and very energized to return to West Virginia University as the 24th president,” Gee said. “As most people know, this is the University and the state that gave me my first opportunity to lead a major university – and I am as passionate today as I was then to make a difference in the lives of our citizens.

“I thank the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission for its support today, and look forward to working with the Commission to advance the mission of our great University in the years ahead.”

Gee has twice served as president of The Ohio State University, from 1990-1997 and later from 2007 to July of 2013 when he was named president emeritus. He was also president of Vanderbilt University (2000-2007), Brown University (1998-2000), the University of Colorado (1985-1990) and WVU (1981-1985; Jan.-Feb. 2014; and March 2014 and beyond). He also served as the dean of the WVU College of Law from 1979-1981.

For Gee’s complete bio go to:



Check daily for the latest news from the University.
Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.