The Office of the Provost at West Virginia University is now accepting nominations for candidates to be awarded honorary doctoral degrees at the 2014 commencement exercises, both on the main campus in Morgantown and on the divisional campuses in Montgomery (West Virginia University Institute of Technology) and Keyser (Potomac State College of West Virginia University).

The honorary degree is the highest honor that WVU bestows. Nominees are evaluated on the basis of one or more of the following criteria:

  • Having attained national/international pre-eminence in their field.
  • Having provided distinguished and pre-eminent leadership in society.
  • Having a sustained record of extraordinary philanthropy to West Virginia University, and/or having supported the University substantially in various ways.

More information about the nomination process, as well as nomination forms and guidelines to any member of the WVU community – faculty, staff, student, alumnus – who wishes to prepare a nomination can be found at

The university has awarded honorary degrees annually since 1873. Degree recipients in 2013 were Vincente Anido Jr., Edward ‘Jed’ Dipaolo, Helen Holt, Jennie Hunter-Cevera and Earl G. ‘Ken’ Kendrick.

The provost’s office encourages all in the campus community to take part in this process of recognizing extraordinary individuals. Nominations of exceptional women and minorities are especially encouraged. Nominations for degrees to be conferred at the main WVU campus must be received by Monday, Sept. 30. Nominations for degrees to be conferred at the divisional campuses must be received in the appropriate divisional office by Sept. 6.

For more information about the divisional campus nomination process, contact Karen Peer ( for Potomac State College) or Gina Shope ( for WVU Tech.)


CONTACT: Lory Osborn; Office of the Provost

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.