Twelve West Virginia University faculty members have been awarded research grants from the Office of the Provost as part of the 2016-2017 Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program.

The program offers faculty members at institutions in the Big 12 Conference the opportunity to travel to other member institutions to pursue collaborative research in a wide variety of ways. The WVU application specifies that award recipients may each use up to $2500 to “work on collaborative research, consult with faculty and students, offer a series of lectures or symposia, acquire new skills or take advantage of a unique archive or laboratory facility.”

The Office of the Provost awarded six fellowships to faculty members during the first cycle of applications earlier this year. The 12 awardees in the second cycle include:

Jessica Blythe, Department of Agricultural & Extension Education

Allison Dagen and Aimee Morewood, Department of Curriculum & Instruction/Literacy Studies

Gregory DeAngelo, Department of Economics

Erin Ellis, School of Music

John Goldwasser, Department of Mathematics

Seung Hong, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Diana Martinelli, Reed College of Media

Jason McKibben, Department of Agricultural & Extension Education

Emily Perdue, Department of Agriculture & Natural Resources

Dimitra Pyrialakou, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Thorsten Wuest, Department of Industrial and Management Systems Engineering

“The tremendous value that our faculty find in the Big 12 Fellowship Program is evidenced by the way the program has grown,” said C. B. Wilson, associate provost for academic personnel. “We awarded seven fellowships the first year we participated and this year have awarded a total of 18 fellowships. We are excited by the caliber of the projects submitted each year and look forward to seeing the program continue to flourish.”

The Provost’s Office will send out a call for applications for the 2017-2018 fellowships in the Spring 2017 semester.

For more information on the Big 12 Faculty Fellowship program, go to Questions may be sent to



CONTACT: Alex Shumiloff, Office of the Provost

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.