Search committees have been appointed to seek candidates for the deans of West Virginia University’s Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design and the College of Creative Arts, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Michele Wheatly announced Friday.

The Davis search committee was formed after seeking faculty and staff input and its makeup is representative of the college’s divisions and includes a student member, a college alumnus, and a member of the Davis College Visiting Committee. WVU’s Associate Provost for Extension and Public Service, Dave Miller, will chair the search committee and faculty members selected to serve include Joe Moritz, Cindy Beacham, John Brooks, Sven Verlinden and Harry Boone; division chair Gerald Fletcher and Associate Dean Tim Phipps; staff member Pam Brookover and graduate student Kelley Lilly. External members of the committee are alumnus Bob Williams and Roger Sherman, a member of the college’s visiting committee.

The College of Creative Arts search committee will be chaired by Dean Dana Brooks. Brooks has served as dean of the College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences for 17 years. Nominations were solicited from the college’s faculty and staff and committee members were selected from those nominated. Those serving are faculty members Jerry McGonigle, Janet Robbins and Joseph Lupo. Associate Dean William Winsor, Museum Director Joyce Ice and Division Chair Josh Williamson will serve along with staff member Pam Otto, Visiting Committee member Cynthia Myerberg and a graduate student that will be named at the start of the semester.

Both search committees plan to have initial meetings by the end of August. The committees plan to complete their work early in the spring semester with the appointment of new deans to each post by July 1, 2011.



CONTACT: News and Information Services

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.