The Laurel chapter at West Virginia University was among the outstanding Mortar Board chapters to be recognized at the 2015 Mortar Board National Conference held in Phoenix, AZ from July 31 – Aug. 2.

The Laurel chapter received the Gold Torch Award. This honor is presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service, while going beyond national minimum standards. Gold Torch Award recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.
Chapter Community Service Chair Heidi Meyer was present to accept the chapter’s award.

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the Society has grown from four to 229 chartered collegiate chapters. The Laurel chapter at WVU was chartered in 1924 and currently has 58 members.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities, and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community.

Some notable Mortar Board alumni include the following: pioneering engineer Lillian Gilbreth, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Emmy-winning actor Rue McClanahan, astronauts Judith Resnik and Janice Voss, adventurer Aron Ralston, lifestyle expert Bruce Littlefield, WVU Vice President for University Relations Sharon Martin and WVU President Gordon Gee.

Learn more about Mortar Board at



CONTACT: Stephen Scott, President

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.