Nine West Virginia University faculty members have been awarded research grants from the Office of the Provost as part of the Big XII Faculty Fellowship Program.

This is WVU’s third year of participation in the program, which offers faculty members at institutions in the Big XII Conference the opportunity to travel to other member institutions to pursue collaborative research in a wide variety of ways. The university’s application specifies that award recipients may each use up to $2500 in fellowship funds to “work on collaborative research, consult with faculty and students, offer a series of lectures or symposia, acquire new skills, or take advantage of a unique archive or laboratory facility.”

The WVU Big XII Faculty Fellows for 2015-16 are:

Robert Blobaum, Department of History
Christina Fattore, Department of Political Science
J. Christopher Haddox, School of Design and Community Development
Anne Lofaso, College of Law
Evan MacCarthy, School of Music
Brent McCusker, Department of Geology and Geography
Travis Stimeling, School of Music
Jennifer Yang, School of Design and Community Development
Andrew Young, Department of Economics

“We’ve seen a steady increase in interest in this program since we began participating,” said C.B. Wilson, associate provost for Academic Personnel. “We sent six researchers in the first year, then eight last year, and now we’re pleased to be funding nine projects for 2015-2016. We’re also seeing faculty use this program to really explore the collaborative possibilities of the Big XII Conference. Some of our researchers are visiting multiple institutions, while others are engaging in multi-year collaborations and encouraging faculty at other institutions to come to us.”



CONTACT: University Relations/News
Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.