The Jasper N. Deahl Honors Society at West Virginia University has inducted four new members.

Each inductee, all Morgantown residents and alumni of the College of Education and Human Services, represents the mission of the College’s Alumni Association: “Giving Forward in Support of Education.” They exemplify this idea through their career achievement, community service and loyalty to WVU.

The inductees include Maxine Arbogast, Kristi Cumberledge, Frank Devono and Kaye McCroy:

Maxine Arbogast, Star City, WV, M.A. Education, 1982.
Arbogast has worked for the Monongalia County Schools system for more than 40 years and is currently a tenth grade teacher at her alma mater, Morgantown High School. Arbogast has been recognized with several awards including the 2011 Arch Coal Teacher’s Award, 2007 People to People Student Ambassador Leader, 2004 West Virginia Writer’s Award and 2002 Toyota International Teacher’s Award. Her work with the West Virginia Department of Education was instrumental in creating a state curriculum standard for health education. She coordinated the Monongalia County “Teens Against Tobacco” campaign and continues to consult for and present to state and local professional development programs on promoting healthy lifestyle choices.

Kristi Cumberledge, Morgantown, WV, M.A. Special Education, 1998.
Cumberledge has taught for nearly 25 years in the Monongalia County area. Fondly known as “Miss C” to her third grade class at at Skyview Elementary, Cumberledge also chairs the school’s Curriculum and Leadership team. In 2011, she was named a Regional Education Service Agencies 7 Teacher Achievement Award recipient by the Arch Coal Foundation. She is a past recipient of the You Make a Difference award sponsored by University Motors, and has been nominated twice for Disney Teacher of the Year. In her spare time, Cumberledge participates in numerous service projects including the Make-A-Wish Foundation, Relay for Life, the Canine Adoption Center, McTeacher Night at McDonald’s and the Belk school program. She has supervised a summer community playground, served on the Local School Improvement Council and has been a basketball referee in the community league.

Frank Devono, Morgantown, WV, Ed.D., 2009.
Now Monongalia County Schools Superintendent, Devono previously served as the Administrative Liaison for Harrison County Schools and as a school principal for 25 years. Under his leadership, several schools have achieved National Blue Ribbon and State Exemplary status. Devono has received the 2011 West Virginia Superintendent of the Year award and a National Distinguished Prinicipal award. He is active in civic organizations, including the Citizens Academy of the Criminal Justice Information Services, Mylan Park Foundation’s Board of Directors, Cerebral Palsy Board of Directors and the American Cancer Society. He has also co-chaired the United Way campaign and coached youth teams within the community.

Kaye McCroy, Morgantown, WV, M.A., Early Childhood Education.
McCroy taught for 32 years at Star City Elementary and Suncrest Primary. She began teaching in higher education as an adjunct professor in the 1980s and has been part of the CEHS Benedum Teacher Collaborative since 2005, where she taught, served on the CEHS Visiting Committee and is president of the CEHS Alumni Association. McCroy has been recognized with various honors and recognitions for outstanding classroom service. In addition to being nominated for Teacher of the Year, she has received the Outstanding Service to Special Students, Division of Special Education and Outstanding Contributions to Education awards from Monongalia County Schools. Since 1982, she has been an educational honorary of Phi Delta Kappa and Alpha Delta Kappa. She supports many community organizations, such as Ronald McDonald House, Morgantown High Marching Band and Mountaineer Swim Team.

For more information on the Society or its inductees, contact Christie Zachary.



CONTACT: Christie Zachary, College of Education and Human Services

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.