Twenty-six teachers in art and the humanities from middle and high schools in West Virginia are attending this year’s Summer Teacher Institute, sponsored by The Art Museum of West Virginia University, June 17-22.

Titled “Cultural Change: the Creative Forces Behind Early Modernism,” the five-day institute is being held at the Art Museum Education Center on the WVU Evansdale Campus.

According to Art Museum Director Joyce Ice, the institute will present an integrated approach to the understanding and teaching of how the radical transformations in art, music, dance and literature in the early 20th century came to define Modernism.

“These pivotal art forms will be the focus of a series of presentations, discussions, and first-hand observations, as participants explore how this cultural shift took place and why it proved to be so influential,” she said.

Activities include presentations from WVU faculty, including: Bernie Schultz, Mary Louise Soldo-Schultz, Rosemary Hathaway, Jane Donovan, Ron Aman, Kristina Olson and Chris Wilkinson. Art Museum Curator Robert Bridges and Director Joyce Ice provide leadership to the Teacher Institute.

This professional development course benefits teachers from 18 counties, as well as their students.

Teachers participating in the institute include:

Berkeley County
Stephanie Van Evera, Hedgesville High School.

Cabell County
Lee Ann Hvizdak, Enslow Middle School.

Doddridge County
Linda Ireland, Doddridge County High School; Stephanie Stemple, Doddridge County Middle School; Terry Trent, Doddridge County Middle School.

Greenbrier County
Vicky Neal, Greenbrier West High School.

Hampshire County
Laura Evert, Hampshire High School.

Harrison County
Carolyn Light, Lincoln High School.

Logan County
Kelly Johnson, Chapmanville Middle School.

Marion County
Amy Carpenter, North Marion High School; Linda Elmer, North Marion High School.

Marshall County
Susette Taylor, Moundsville Middle School.

Mason County
Sarah Allinder, Wahama Jr/Sr High School.

McDowell County
Anita Proffitt, Sandy River Middle School.

Mercer County
Susan Hatcher, Lashmeet/Matoaka School; Sherri Mitchem, Pike View Middle School.

Monongalia County
Jenna Alley, University High School; Carrie Beatty, University High School; Debra Hart, South Middle School.

Raleigh County
Jocelyn Woods, Shady Springs High School.

Upshur County
Julia Conley, Buckhannon-Upshur High School.

Wood County
Elsie Horton, Edison Middle School; Jennifer Slone, Parkersburg High School; Jason Zyla, Parkersburg High School.

Tamyra Cundiff, substitute in numerous West Virginia schools.

The Summer Teachers Institute is funded with a grant from the West Virginia Humanities Council, with additional support provided by Chesapeake Energy.



CONTACT: Charlene Lattea, College of Creative Arts

Follow @WVUToday on Twitter.