Richard Rafes, president of the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine, has been named chair of the President’s Advisory Committee of the West Virginia Campus Compact for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Concord President Gregory Aloia will serve as vice chair of the committee.

West Virginia Campus Compact, composed of 26 college and university presidents and housed in the president’s office at West Virginia University, is a strategic initiative of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and one of 35 state offices of the national Campus Compact.

Other members of the Advisory Committee are: Pam Balch, West Virginia Wesleyan College; Jim Clements, West Virginia University; Marie Gnage, West Virginia University at Parkersburg; Martin Olshinsky, West Virginia Northern Community and Technical College; and G.T. “Buck” Smith, Davis and Elkins College.

During the 2009-2010 academic year, Pierpont Community and Technical College President Blair Montgomery served as the inaugural chair Presidents’ Advisory Committee.

“West Virginia Campus Compact has benefited enormously from President Montgomery’s leadership this year, and we congratulate him on his retirement after years of dedication and hard work. We will miss him greatly, but we are confident that President Rafes and President Aloia will be just as essential to our organization,” said Franchesca Nestor, Compact director.



CONTACT: Franchesca Nestor, West Virginia Campus Compact

Follow @wvutoday on Twitter.