Terry Nebel has helped define leadership at West Virginia University.

The 2010 recipient of WVU’s Mertins Leadership Award for Staff Advocacy, Nebel has worked at WVU for more than 20 years – 14 of which he spent on Staff Council.

This award is presented to former or current WVU administrators who have demonstrated consistent advocacy for the advancement of classified staff at WVU and demonstrated long-range enhancements of classified staff programs. Nebel will be recognized during an award ceremony on Friday, April 9 during WVU’s Weekend of Honors.

Nebel, a technology specialist in WVU’s Office of Information Technology, was the longest standing chair of Staff Council, a position he held for 10 years. He stepped down in 2009 to pursue other interests.

“Terry has worked tirelessly to represent classified employees with the best interest of all employees at WVU in mind,” said Jo Morrow, current Staff Council chair.

During his time as Staff Council chair, Nebel authored several proposals which later became WVU policies.

His efforts led the Advisory Council of Classified Employees to nominate him to the Senate Bill 603 Personnel Study Committee. He was later selected by former Higher Education Policy Commission Vice Chancellor of Administration Dennis Taylor to chair the Market Study Subcommittee.

As of a result of his work on Senate Bill 603, Nebel was written into this year’s Senate Bill 480 to serve as a representative on the proposed Compensation Committee.

“It speaks to Terry’s professional expertise that he was written into a bill that would impact higher education employees statewide,” Morrow said.

The Mertins Leadership Award for Staff Advocacy was developed through the support of former WVU President Neil S. Bucklew in 1994 and awarded to the first recipient, Herman Mertins Jr., vice president of Administration, Finance and Human Resources in 1995.

Only six WVU staff members have been selected to receive the Mertins Leadership Award for Staff Advocacy.

Other recipients include: Dr. James Harlow, WVU president in 1967; Dr. Harry Heflin, president emeritus in 1982 and professor emeritus 1964-78; Sandy Serpento, director of WVU Human Resources from 1960-90; and former WVU President Neil S. Bucklew was recognized in 2003 with the award.



CONTACT: News and Information Services