Search committees have been appointed to seek candidates for the top posts in two of West Virginia University’s colleges, Interim Provost Jane Martin announced Friday.

WVU is seeking a new dean in the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, the University’s largest college, to take the place of Mary Ellen Mazey, who left the college in February to become the Provost at Auburn University. English Professor Rudy Almasy has been acting as interim dean since that time.

“A broad range of faculty and staff input was sought as the search committees were formed,” Martin said. “We believe they accurately reflect the communities they serve, both within and without academia.”

Gene Cilento, dean of the College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, will chair the committee. Members of the committee include professors Laura Brady, English; Sandra Dixon, Foreign Languages; Barry Edelstein, Psychology; and Ken Showalter, Chemistry; chairs Liz Fones-Wolf, History; Melissa Latimer, Sociology and Anthropology; and Earl Scime, Physics; staff members Katie Stores and Rachel Detlor; and Public Administration student Hannah Thurman. External members of the committee are Rick French and Jonathan Hollyfield, both members of Eberly’s advisory board.

The College of Business and Economics is also set to begin its work. R. Stephen Sears resigned as dean in April of 2008, and Chair of the Division of Economics and Finance William Trumbull was appointed as interim dean.

Dean of Law Joyce McConnell will chair the committee. Members include professors Ron Balvers, Division of Economics and Finance; Rich Brooks, Division of Accounting; Gary Insch, Division of Management; and Nancy McIntyre, Management; Chair, Division of Business Administration Graham Peace; Associate Dean Jess Mancini; classified staff member Susan Maczko; student Victor Sella-Villa; and Board of Visitors members Kim Craig, president and CEO of F.N.B. Wealth Management, and Stu Robbins, retired managing director of Global Equities, DLJ.

The committees’ initial meeting will occur prior to the University’s December break and they plan to have their work completed in time for the respective deans to begin on July 1, 2010.



Contact: News and Information Services
(304) 293-6997