West Virginia University Director of Athletics Ed Pastilong has announced today the 2009 football schedule, highlighted by seven home games, five national television dates and an attractive non-conference slate.

We are pleased with this years schedule,Pastilong says.We have seven home games, which always is good for our fan base. We have five national television games, which gives our football program outstanding exposure. It will be a very challenging non-conference schedule once again, but gives our team a chance to compete against teams from the SEC , the Big 12 and Conference USA .

The Mountaineers open the 2009 schedule on Saturday, Sept. 5, at home against Liberty. Other home games are against East Carolina, Colorado, Marshall, Connecticut, Louisville and Pitt. The East Carolina game will be designated as the WVU Sports Hall of Fame game, Connecticut will be Homecoming on the WVU campus, while Louisville will be part of Mountaineer Week festivities.

Five games are already slated for national television. West Virginias road games at USF , Cincinnati and Rutgers, along with homes games against Colorado and Pitt, are slated to be televised on the ESPN family of networks.

“I really like the way our schedule is put together, WVU Football Coach Bill Stewart says.The mix of road and home games makes it an attractive schedule and gives our fans two home games in September, three in October and two in November. There are many challenges ahead of us with our schedule, but I think our fans and supporters will enjoy it.”

Day Date Opponent

Saturday, Sept. 5, Liberty

Saturday, Sept. 12, East Carolina

Saturday, Sept. 19, at Auburn

Thursday, Oct. 1, Colorado (ESPN)

Saturday, Oct 10, at Syracuse

Saturday, Oct. 17, Marshall

Saturday, Oct. 24, Connecticut (Homecoming)

Friday, Oct. 30, at USF (ESPN2)

Saturday, Nov. 7, Louisville (Mountaineer Week)

Friday, Nov. 13, at Cincinnati (ESPN2)

Friday, Nov. 27, Pitt (ESPN/ABC)

Saturday, Dec 5, at Rutgers (ABC/ESPN/ESPN2)

All times are Eastern