Meeting today (Oct. 8) by conference call, West Virginia Universitys Board of Governor unanimously approved the 15 voting members that will make up the Universitys presidential search committee. They represent the faculty, staff, students and administration of WVU as well as the WVU Alumni Association, WVU Foundation, Mountaineer Parents Club and Board.

Chairing the search is Gene Budig, distinguished professor and senior presidential adviser to the College Board, who also spent 23 years leading three major four-year institutionsIllinois State University, WVU and the University of Kansas.

He offered this comment following the meeting:I am pleased that West Virginia Universitys Board of Governors has ratified the nominees proposed by the institutions constituent groups. Each group developed a thorough and deliberate process to select its nominees, and the Board of Governors followed appropriate procedures in approving the search committee members. The diversity of the search committee will represent the interests of WVU well, and the search committee is committed to recruiting and hiring an excellent candidate who will lead West Virginia University to further successes. I look forward to working closely with each committee member over the coming months.

Joining Budig on the committee are BOG representatives Carolyn D. Long, superintendent of schools, Braxton County, and Board chair; and Charles M. Vest, president, National Academy of Engineering, and president emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Long will also serve as vice chair of the search committee.

Representing the faculty are: Lesley Cottrell, associate professor and section chief, epidemiological, psychological and behavioral research, Department of Pediatrics, WVU School of Medicine; Lawrence A. Hornak, Robert C. Byrd Distinguished Professor, Lane Department of Computer and Electrical Engineering, WVU College of Engineering and Mineral Resources; and Earl Scime, Robert C. Byrd Distinguished Professor of Physics and chair, Department of Physics, WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences.

Classified staff representatives are: Jo Y. Morrow, program assistant, WVU College of Business and Economics; and Lana Cooke, manager, Business Operations, WVU Administration and Finance Business Office.

Student representatives are: Ron K. Cheng, a sophomore political science major from Morgantown, and Stephanie Busby, a first-year School of Medicine student from Charleston.

Representing the administration are: Ken Gray, vice president for Student Affairs, and Russ Dean, senior associate provost in the Office of Academic Affairs.

The WVU Foundations representative is Dan R. Moore, a Charleston businessman and chairman of the WVU Foundation board of directors.

Representing the WVU Alumni Association is Phillip D. Gaujot, an administrative law judge from Morgantown and a member of the WVU Alumni Association board of directors.

The WVU Mountaineer Parents Club representative is Harry G. Shaffer III , an attorney and member of the club from Madison.

Serving as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the committee is Chancellor Brian Noland of the state Higher Education Policy Commission. C. Peter Magrath, WVU s interim president, will serve as an adviser to the committeealso as a non-voting member.

The Board also approved a document of desired attributes they would like to see in the next president. The characteristics are listed under the headings of integrity, leadership, experience, scholarship and vision. The document will be submitted to the search committee for further development.

Biographical sketches of the search committee members and the presidential attributes document are posted online at .

In other business, the Board approved appointments to several WVU affiliated boards: Dr. Thomas S. Clark to the WVU Hospitals Board of Directors; Ellen S. Cappellanti to the WVU Health System Board of Directors and Stephen P. Goodwin to the WVU Health Sciences Center National Advisory Council. Each appointment is for a three-year term.

BOG Secretary Ted Mattern chaired the nominating committee.