With gas prices expected to rise to a national average of $4.25 by the Fourth of July, drivers looking for some relief at the pump arent going to get it anytime soon.

The cost of fuel is bad news for consumers, already struggling with increasing prices for food and consumer goods.

West Virginia Universitys George Hammond and Tom Witt, faculty in the College of Business and Economics, can discuss the major economic impacts of high gas prices. Hammond, associate director of the Bureau of Business and Economic Research (BBER) and associate professor of economics, can be reached at 304-293-7876 or ghammond@wvu.edu . Witt, director of BBER and professor of economics, may be contacted at 304-293-7835 or twitt@wvu.edu .

Meanwhile, the interest in alternative fuel sources is increasing as gas prices continue to soar. The National Alternative Fuels Training Consortium (NAFTC), headquartered at WVU , can be a valuable resource for information, training and technology for all concerned by the rising fuel costs. The NAFTC is exploring the development of alternative fuel vehicles and advanced technology vehicles.

Experts at the consortium and WVU National Research Center for Coal and Energy (NRCCE), and in WVU s College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, can answer fuel-related questions as well as offer insight on alternative fuel technology.

  • Richard Bajura, director, WVU National Research Center for Coal and Energy, 304-293-2867 ext. 5407, Richard.Bajura@mail.wvu.edu (areas of expertise include coal-to-liquids research)
  • Dady Dadyburjor, chair, Department of Chemical Engineering, 304-293-2111 ext. 2411, dady.dadyburjor@mail.wvu.edu (areas of expertise include synthetic fuels)
  • Al Ebron, executive director, NAFTC , 304-293-7882, al.ebron@mail.wvu.edu (areas of expertise include alternative fuels)
  • Edwin Kugler, professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, 304-293-2111 ext. 2414, edwin.kugler@mail.wvu.edu (areas of expertise include synthetic fuels)
  • Scott Wayne, research assistant professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, 304-293-3111 ext. 2323, scott.wayne@mail.wvu.edu (research interests center around measuring and reducing emissions from heavy-duty vehicles)