Five alumni of West Virginia Universitys Davis College of Agriculture, Forestry and Consumer Sciences will be honored at the College Alumni Associations annual banquet at 5 p.m. Saturday, May 5, at the Pines Country Club in Morgantown.

Three individuals will receive the Associations Distinguished Alumni Award. They are Robert A. Dailey (B.S.,67), Nicholas R. Kent (B.S.R.,73), and Roberta Jefferson Swank (B.S.,58). Matthew B. Harper (B.S.,93) will receive the organizations Young Distinguished Alumni Award. Truman R. Wolfe (B.S.,75) will receive an Honorary Membership to the Association.

The event will begin with a social hour at 5 p.m., and the banquet will follow at 6 p.m. A silent auction will be held during the social hour to raise money for the Associations scholarship fund. Tickets for the event are $25, and deadline for reservations is Wednesday, April 25. For information or reservations, contact Carol Schuller, 304-293-2694, ext. 3473 or .

Honoree profiles:
p. Robert A. Dailey , Morgantown, a professor of animal and nutritional sciences in the Davis College, has been a WVU faculty member since 1977 and has earned some of the Universitys highest honors. He received the WVU Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching in 1996 and was named a Benedum Distinguished Scholar in 2005. He directs the Davis-Michael Scholars Program for undergraduate students interested in pursuing careers in veterinary and human medicine.

Nicholas R. Kent, Hawthorne Woods, Ill., is the president and CEO of the North American Wholesale Lumber Association (NAWLA). NAWLA is an international trade association representing wholesalers, manufacturers, and service affiliates in the forest products industry. During his tenure with NAWLA , he has created the Temperate Forest Foundation and led the development and implementation of the organizations Management Schools for Leadership Development.

Roberta Jefferson Swank , Franklin, N.C., spent much of her career overseeing childhood nutrition programs in the Macon County School System in western North Carolina. She has received the Mary Long Beasley Distinguished Service Award for her efforts. At the national level, she has earned the Foodservice Achievement Management Excellence award, the highest honor available to child nutrition professionals. She has been active in community affairs and received the Asheville Citizen-Times Citizen of the Year Award in 1993.

Truman R. Wolfe, Charleston, currently serves as executive director of the West Virginia Conservation Agency. In that role, he directs and coordinates the staff activities of the agency, advises the state conservation committee on pertinent issues, and provides for the efficient management of soil and water conservation in West Virginia. He was instrumental in the naming of Monongahela Silt Loam as the official soil of West Virginia, and he has received the Golden Auger Award from the West Virginia Association of Professional Soil Scientists.

Matthew B. Harper , Seneca Rocks, is a busy entrepreneur, running Seneca Rentals, which provides specialty equipment to livestock and poultry producers throughout the Alleghany Highlands and the eastern panhandle. Harper has also been deeply involved in research related to the conversion of poultry litter into fuels, founding Allegheny Biomass, LLC . He has researched, designed and built three pieces of agricultural equipment and is in the process of applying for patent protection.