Stephen J. Wetmore, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Otolaryngology in the West Virginia University School of Medicine, has been named the first holder of the Romeo Yap Lim and Maria Corazon Wong Lim Chair of Otolaryngology.

Dr. Wetmore, who has led WVU s ear, nose and throat department since 1988, was named to the endowed chair by the medical school dean, John E. Prescott, M.D. Under his leadership, the department has expanded in size and activity, and taken on new responsibilities in patient care, education and research.

WVU ’s Department of Otolaryngology is ranked 12th among all U.S. medical school ENT departments in externally funded research.

The chair was endowed by Dr. Romeo Y. Lim and Maria C. Lim of Charleston, W.Va. Dr. Lim has been associated with the Eye and Ear Hospital in Charleston since 1968, and served as a clinical professor at the WVU School of Medicines Charleston Division.