West Virginia University President David C. Hardesty, Jr. has been appointed to the newly created National Security Higher Education Advisory Board (NSHEAB), FBI Director Robert S. Mueller III announced Thursday (Sept. 15).

The board, which will consist of presidents and chancellors of several prominent U.S. universities, is designed to foster outreach and to promote understanding between higher education and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Graham Spanier, president of Pennsylvania State University, will chair the 16-member board.

Hardesty said it is an honor to be appointed to such an important panel of distinguished national higher education administrators.

I look forward to serving with other presidents of important higher education institutions on this advisory board,Hardesty said.WVU’s programs and experience should position us well to both advise government agencies and to learn from them through service on the board.

Mueller said the board will provide advice on the culture of higher education, including the traditions of openness, academic freedom and international collaboration.

The board will also seek to establish lines of communication on national priorities pertaining to terrorism, counterintelligence and homeland security.

Members will assist in the development of research, degree programs, course work, internships, opportunities for graduates and consulting opportunities for faculty relating to national security as well, Mueller noted.

As we do our work, we wish to be sensitive to university concerns about

international students, visas, technology expert policy and the special culture of colleges and universities,Mueller said.We also want to foster exchanges between academia and the FBI in order to develop curricula which will aid in attracting the best and brightest students to careers in the law enforcement and intelligence communities.

The board will meet collectively at least three times a year in Washington, D.C., while individual presidents will often be invited to meetings of relevant working groups in the regions of their universities. The board will begin meeting this fall.

Other members of the board, in addition to Spanier and Hardesty, are: William R. Brody, president, The Johns Hopkins University; Albert Carnesale, chancellor, University of California-Los Angelas; Jared L. Cohon, president, Carnegie Mellon University; Mark Emmert, president, University of Washington; Marye Ann Fox, chancellor, University of California, San Diego; Robert M. Gates, president, Texas A&M University; Gregory L. Geoffroy, president, Iowa State University; Amy Guttmann, president, University of Pennsylvania; Susan Hockfield, president, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Martin C. Jischke, president, Purdue University; J. Bernard Machen, president, University of Florida; James Moeser, chancellor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; C.D. Mote, Jr., president, University of Maryland, College Park; and John D. Wiley, chancellor, University of Wisconsin, Madison.