James V. Denova, senior program officer for the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation, will be guest speaker for the West Virginia University College of Creative Arts graduation convocation Saturday, May 15.

This years convocation has been changed to Saturday evening to better accommodate the colleges graduates and their families. It will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the CAC s Lyell B. Clay Concert Theatre.

At the Benedum Foundation, Dr. Denova has programmatic responsibility for the southwestern Pennsylvania agenda and grantmaking in the areas of education and workforce development. He has worked in human services for 30 years and his background includes direct service, administration, and research and planning for health and human service agencies. He holds a masters degree and a doctorate from the University of Pittsburgh School of Social Work and has lectured for the University of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania State University and WVU . He also has written articles on various human service and nonprofit management issues. Board affiliations include KidsVoice, Pittsburgh Filmmakers and Andrew Carnegie Free Library. He also serves on advisory committees for Robert Morris University, The Allegheny County Area Agency on Aging and Grantmakers of Western Pennsylvania.

During the May 15 Convocation, the College of Creative Arts will individually recognize approximately 130 graduates, including those who completed their requirements in August or December of 2003. Sergio Soave, chair of the Division of Art, David Bess, chair of the Division of Music, and Margaret McKowen, chair of the Division of Theatre and Dance, will recognize each of the degree candidates by name, and they will receive congratulations from Dean Bernie Schultz and Associate Dean William Winsor.

There also will be several special presentations, including awards to outstanding students in art, music and theatre.

Student Marshals, who lead the procession of graduates, are undergraduates in the college who have achieved the highest cumulative grade point average in their division. The Student Marshals for 2004 are Tannaz Farsi, BFA in art; Sarah Hill, BM in music; and Jaclyn Nicole Vaughn, BFA in theatre.

Outstanding Graduating Senior awards for the three divisions include Tannaz Farsi, art; Sarah Hill, music; and Jamie Whoolery, theatre and dance.

The College of Creative Arts Outstanding Graduating Senior for 2003-2004 will be announced by Dean Schultz during the convocation.

The dean will also present awards to faculty for outstanding teaching, research/creative activity and service. Faculty who will be honored for outstanding teaching include Paul Scea, music; Eve Faulkes, art; and Victor McQuiston, theatre and dance.

Honorees for outstanding research/creative activity are Paul Krainak, art; Frank Gagliano, theatre and dance; and Mary Ferer, music.

For outstanding service the faculty honorees are Sergio Soave, art; David Bess, music; and W. James Brown, theatre and dance.

The award for Outstanding Staff Member of the Year for 2003 will be presented to Mark Oreskovich.

Doors to the Lyell B. Clay Concert Theatre will open at 7 p.m. Tickets are not required for admission and seating is open except where reserved for degree candidates. The academic procession begins sharply at 7:30 p.m. Parking is available immediately in front of the Creative Arts Center.

Following the ceremony, there will be a reception in the Douglas O. Blaney Lobby of the Creative Arts Center for the graduates, their families and friends, and College of Creative Arts faculty and staff.

For more information, contact the College of Creative Arts at (304) 293-4841, Ext. 3109.