The Division of Forestry in West Virginia Universitys Davis College of Agriculture, Forestry and Consumer Sciences honored faculty, students and alumni at its 69th annual alumni banquet April 24.

James Armstrong , associate professor of wood science and technology, received the Wood Industry Faculty Award. Kyle Hartman , associate professor of wildlife and fisheries resources, received the Kevin Kinsley Award and Wildlife and Fisheries Faculty Award. Ray Hicks , professor of forest resources management, received the Forest Management Faculty Award and Xi Sigma Pi Award. Todd Petty , assistant professor of wildlife and fisheries resources, received the Hoyt Outstanding Faculty Award. Steve Selin , professor of recreation, parks, and tourism resources, received the Outstanding Recreation and Parks Faculty Award.

Bernard Dowler , who earned a bachelors degree in wildlife management in 1965, received the Outstanding Alumnus Award. Dowler spent 35 years as a fisheries biologist for the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources. He served as the agencys deputy director from 2001 until his recent retirement.

Jared Jones , a business administration major from Mount Storm, received the Outstanding Forestry Club Member Award. Kristen Lockerman , a forest resources management major from Hockessin, Del., received the Roger Latham Memorial Award. Christina Venable , a plant and soil sciences major from Morgantown, received the Dr. Kenneth Carvell Student Award.

Division of Forestry scholarship recipients were also recognized at the event. They are:

  • Robert Alonso , wildlife and fisheries resources, Arbovale, Kenneth L. Carvell Scholarship
  • William Beaumont , recreation, parks, and tourism resources, Morgantown, WVU Forestry Alumni Scholarship
  • Drew Cantis , wood science, Morgantown, Asher W. Kelly, Jr. Scholarship
  • Jason Clingerman , wildlife and fisheries resources, Hedgesville, H. Philip Berthy Scholarship
  • Gregory Estep , wood science, Summersville, Weyerhaeuser Scholarship
  • Jennifer Fortney , forest resources management, Morgantown, H. Philip Berthy Scholarship
  • Tyler R. Hern , wildlife and fisheries resources, Ravenswood, Freshman Hoyt Scholarship
  • Dirk Hillegass , forest resources management, Morgantown, Allen W. Goodspeed Forestry Scholarship
  • Jimmy King , wood science, Morgantown, Weyerhaeuser Scholarship
  • Corey Klamut , forest resources management, Wheeling, Forestry Club Scholarship
  • Kristin Lockerman , forest resources management, Hockessin, Del., Eugene Shreve Alumni Association Scholarship
  • Elena Mamula , recreation, parks, and tourism resources, Monaca, Pa., Howard D. Bennett Scholarship
  • Jesse Morgan , forest resources management, Fairmont, Allen W. Goodspeed Forestry Scholarship
  • Matthew Perkowski , forest resources management, Bowie, Md., W. Clement Percival Scholarship
  • Eric Rice , wildlife and fisheries resources, Pittsburgh, Earl H. Tryon Scholarship
  • Matthew Rowles , wood science, Rileyville, Va., C.B. Koch Scholarship
  • Dustin Smith , wildlife and fisheries resources, West Union, H. Philip Berthy Scholarship
  • Shane Wagoner , forest resources management, Keyser, H. Philip Berthy Scholarship
  • Kent Williamson , wildlife and fisheries resources, Morgantown, Virgil W. and James C. Spitzer Scholarship
  • Gordon Wright , forest resources management, Waynesboro, Va., Division of Forestry Hoyt Scholarship.