West Virginia University will undergo a comprehensive evaluation visit April 19-21 by a team representing the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. WVU has been accredited by the Commission since the 1920s. Its accreditation is at the doctoral and first professional level.

For the past two and a half years, WVU has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commissions requirements and criteria for accreditation. The evaluation team will visit the institution to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the university; following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

Currently, the Commission is seeking public comment on substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Comments should be submitted to: Public Comment on West Virginia University, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education, North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, 30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2400, Chicago, Ill. 60602.

Written, signed comments must be received by March 20. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after the due date will be considered. Comments should include the name, address and telephone number of the person providing the comments. Comments will not be treated as confidential.

Note: Individuals with a specific dispute or grievance with the institution should request the separate Policy on Complaints document from the Commission office. The Commission on Institutions of Higher Education cannot settle disputes between institutions and individuals. Complaints will not be considered third party comment.

The Commission on Institutions of Higher Education is one of six accrediting agencies in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Institutional accreditation evaluates an entire institution and accredits it as a whole. Other agencies provide accreditation for specific programs. Accreditation is voluntary. The Commission accredits approximately 950 institutions of higher education in a 19-state region. The Commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.