Alison and Patrick Deem of Bridgeport have established an endowed professorship in the West Virginia University College of Creative Arts in honor of the current dean.

The J. Bernard Schultz Endowed Professorship in Art honors Dean Bernie Schultz and will provide funding to support research and creative activity by a professor of art at WVU .

We chose to name the professorship for Dr. Schultz as a fitting tribute to an individual who has devoted his career to the scholarly pursuit of art and to fostering the appreciation and understanding of art by his students,the Deems said.It is our hope that this professorship will continue Bernies legacy at West Virginia University by providing an opportunity for the faculty of the Division of Art to pursue independent study and research and to share those results with their students and colleagues.

The Deems plan to announce the professorship today (Jan. 22) at 5 p.m. during the annual Deem Distinguished Artist Lecture in the CAC s Bloch Learning and Performance Hall (Room 200A).

This years lecture, the 10th, will be presented by printmaker Carmon Colangelo, former chair of the WVU Division of Art, who is currently professor of art and director of the Lamar Dodd School of Art at the University of Georgia. Colangelo was chair of the WVU Division of Art when the Deem Distinguished Art Lecture was established in 1995.

For the past decade, Alison and Patrick Deem have provided financial support for the Deem Distinguished Artist Lecture Series that brings leading contemporary artists and scholars to campus. Previous Deem lecturers include Pheobe Adams, Ann Agee, Hachivi Edgar Heap of Birds, Judy Linn, Pamela Longobardi, Peter Dudek, Chris Duncan, Johanna Drucker, Buzz Spector and Diana Cooper.

This series has become an integral part of the educational experience of thousands of students,said Chair of Art Sergio Soave.The Deem Lectures are a high point of each academic year and further the mission of the Division of Art as a leader in the education, creative development and professional preparation of artists, teachers and scholars.

We are pleased to announce the J. Bernard Schultz Endowed Professorship in Art, which, through the continued generosity of Alison and Patrick Deem, will help our art faculty integrate their individual research and creative activity into their teaching and professional relationships with students, as well as maintain their professional dialogue with the national and international art communities.

The professorship is open to full-time, tenured faculty members and the appointment holds a renewable term limit of three years, with a maximum of six years.

Schultz serves as dean of the College of Creative Arts and director of the Creative Arts Center. He has a bachelor of arts degree from John Carroll University and a master of arts and doctorate in the History of Art from the University of Pittsburgh. He also studied at Loyla Center in Rome, Italy. He came to WVU in 1977 and is also a professor of art history. He has been honored by the WVU Division of Art for outstanding teaching, has led numerous WVU art tours of Italy, and received the WVU Neil S. Bucklew Award for Social Justice Award in 1997. He also was named the Frick Fine Arts Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Pittsburgh in 1993. He is the author of Art and Anatomy in Renaissance Italy and co-author of Art Past/Art Present, to be published next year in its fifth edition.

Patrick Deem is a graduate of the WVU College of Law and practices in Clarksburg with the firm of Steptoe&Johnson PLLC . He has for many years been recognized in The Best Lawyers of America for his expertise in corporate, real estate and natural resources law. Additionally, he is a former member of the Harrison County Board of Education and currently serves on the Boards of the United Hospital Center and United Summit Center and is a member of the Visiting Committee of the WVU College of Law.

Alison Deem is also a WVU graduate. She has been a member of the College of Creative Arts Board of Advisors since 1990 and was past chair. She is a member of the West Virginia Library Commission, the Bridgeport Public Library Board of Trustees and the Board of United Way of Harrison County. She formerly served as a member of the United Health Foundation of the United Hospital Center, the Board of Trustees of the Clarksburg-Harrison Public Library and the Advisory Committee on the Arts of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.