West Virginia University honored seven students and one dean Tuesday (April 2) for their efforts to improve safety on campus.

Students Christie Shaffer of Morgantown, Nick Butryn of Brick, N.J., Travis Mollohan of Rosedale, Jacquelyn Story of Barboursville, Monica Tanzey of Wallace, Brett White of Frametown and Jamie Bailey of Clarksburg received the Safety Achievement Award of Excellence.

M. Duane Nellis, dean of the Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, was the recipient of the Dean/Director Leadership Award for Safety.

The awards were announced during the 12th annual Presidents Safety Reception in the Erickson Alumni Center. WVU s Environmental Health&Safety coordinated the program.

Shaffer, Butryn, Mollohan, Story, Tanzey, White and Bailey were recognized for their membership and participation in the 2001-2002 Student Government Association Safety Committee. The students surveyed the campus for potential safety hazards, established a door-to-door campaign to share safety information with students across the city, implemented Safety Week 2002 for students before spring break and worked closely with Morgantown City Council to create a stronger City/University collaboration to address safety issues.

Nellis was honored for his guidance on safety and health awareness at the Eberly College. Nellisaward credits him with establishing a college-wide chemical hygiene officer committee, providing for the publication of a college safety newsletter and creating funding for specific safety equipment.

WVU also recognized the following building/unit safety committees for their outstanding safety efforts: the Department of Biology, College of Business and Economics, Department of Chemistry, Department of Foreign Languages, Department of Geology and Geography, Health Sciences Center, National Research Center for Coal and Energy, Physical Plant, Department of Physics, Department of Psychology and Potomac State College.