Nine West Virginia University staff and students will be recognized for their outstanding safety efforts at 2 p.m. Thursday, April 5, at Erickson Alumni Center.

One staff member will receive the Presidential Heroism Award, two staff will be presented the Good Samaritan Award and three students and three staff will be presented the Safety Achievement Award of Excellence.

Fifteen building/unit Safety Committees will be recognized for their safety-related activities throughout the previous year.

WVU President David C. Hardesty, Jr. will present the awards.

Larry Gibbs, associate vice provost of StanfordUniversitys Environmental Health and Safety unit, will give the keynote address.

Former WVU President Neil S. Bucklew began the University Safety Reception Program 10 years ago at the suggestion of the University-Wide Safety Committee.

Its purpose is to recognize groups and individuals for their commitment to promoting safety and to honor those who perform significant actions above the call of duty.

The public is invited to attend the ceremony and the reception that follows.