Three West Virginia University professors are recipients of this years Benedum Distinguished Scholar Awards for their achievements in research and creative endeavors.

The 2001 Benedum Scholars are Peter Lightfoot, associate professor of music; Linda Butler, professor of plant and soil sciences; and Mark E. Koepke, professor of physics.

“These faculty are top-notch in their fields �€areas ranging from the performing arts to pest management in our forests and the physics of space plasma,”said C.B. Wilson, associate provost for academic personnel.”These awards acknowledge their contributions in creativity and research and their talks promise to provide stimulating insights.”

The recipients will be honored at individual awards ceremonies in March and April. Award winners will receive their $2,500 prize and give public lectures related to their field.

Awards ceremony/lecture schedule:

  • Tuesday, March 20 �€Peter Lightfoot, award in humanities and the arts, In Search of A Character , 4:15 p.m., CreativeArtsCenter, Falbo Theatre

  • Tuesday, April 3 �€Linda Butler, award in biosciences and health sciences, Diversity of Forest Insects and Impact of Management Practices , 4 p.m., Mountainlair, Rhododendron Room

  • Tuesday, April 17 �€Mark Koepke, award in physical sciences and technology, Stormy Weather in Space , 4 p.m., Mountainlair, Rhododendron Room

All Benedum Distinguished Scholars will be recognized at a special ceremony at 7 p.m. Friday, April 6, in the Mountainlair Ballroom as part of WVU s Weekend of Honors.

The Benedum and Distinguished Professors of WVU established the Benedum Distinguished Scholar Awards in 1985-86 to honor and reward University faculty for excellence in research, scholarship or creative endeavors. The awards recognize either a single recent achievement of note or a long, distinguished career that is still ongoing. The program is funded by the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation and coordinated by the Office of Academic Affairs and Research.